Calligraphies IX : Magazine : A Public Space

Calligraphies IX

Poetry Marilyn Hacker

Remember longing / when it was legitimate, / remember writing / in an emerging language.

Log in to read the rest.

If you are a subscriber but do not currently have online access, please contact us to link your subscription at

Not a subscriber?

Not yet a subscriber? Join us now, and become a part of the conversation.

No. 27

No. 27


Marilyn Hacker’s books include A Stranger’s Mirror: New and Selected Poems 1994–2014 (Norton); the essay collection Unauthorized Voices (University of Michigan); Diaspo/Renga, a collaborative sequence written with Deema Shehabi (Holland Park); and numerous translations, including Vénus Khoury-Ghata’s Where Are the Trees Going? (Northwestern).


A Public Space is an independent nonprofit publisher of an eponymous award-winning literary, arts, and culture magazine, and APS Books. Under the direction of founding editor Brigid Hughes since 2006, it has been our mission to seek out overlooked and unclassifiable work, and to publish writing from beyond established confines. Subscribe today, and join the conversation. More


A one-year subscription to A Public Space includes three issues of the magazine as well as access to the online archive and membership in a dynamic community of readers and writers.

For Just


Subscribe Today

A Public Space
323 Dean Street
Brooklyn, NY 11217

Privacy Policy

General Information
Subscription Help