ISBN: 978-0-9982675-0-0
Pages: 336
Publication Date: May 7, 2019

Her sheer gifts as a writer... place her in a lonely league of achievement.

-New York Times

"A remarkable literary voice rediscovered."

-Kirkus

"Howland creates stark and strange works of genius....This is a collection to savor, and Howland is an author to celebrate."

-Publishers Weekly

Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage

Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage restores to the literary canon an extraordinarily gifted writer, who was recognized as a major talent in the 1980s before all but disappearing from public view for decades. Bette Howland’s work was rediscovered near the end of her life when one of her books was found in the one-dollar bin at a used bookstore, about to be pulped.

With direct and powerful language in the tradition of Lucia Berlin, Kathleen Collins, and Grace Paley, Howland chronicles the tensions of her generation. She was an outsider; an intellectual from a working-class neighborhood in Chicago and an artist chipped away at by poverty and self-doubt. A brilliant observer, she captures the meanings of everyday life in its grit, humor, and splendor in portraits of criminal courts and public libraries; southern belles; funerals; the end of an affair. This collection, spanning the entirety of her career, reveals a writer whose vibrant presence on the page reasserts the eternal relevance of masterful literature.

$26.00

Available May 7, 2019

This title is also available for pre-order at: IndieBound | Barnes & Noble | Amazon | Powell's


Author

Bette Howland (1937-2017) was the author of three books: W-3, Blue in Chicago, and Things to Come and Go. She received a MacArthur Fellowship in 1984, after which though she continued writing but did not publish another book. Near the end of her life, her stories found new readers when a portfolio of her work appeared in a special issue of A Public Space magazine exploring a generation of women writers, their lifetimes of work, and questions of anonymity and public attention in art.

More Praise

Her words and observations shine like buried treasure, each story a glinty, multifaceted gem….This achingly beautiful book throbs with life, compassion, warmth, and humor… and creeps into your soul like the slushy-gray-yellow light of a wintry Chicago morning.
Kirkus, starred review

A writer of unusual talent, power, and intelligence. Bette Howland has revealed from the start a vigorous, original voice, an incisive mind and an uncompromised lyrical vision.
New York Times

With “Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage” she has found a new and higher level. This is clearly the work of a woman who has invested her life in her art, and who will, I think, be remembered as one of the significant writers of her generation.
—Saul Bellow

A Public Space
323 Dean Street
Brooklyn, NY 11217
718.858.8067  

Privacy Policy

General Information general@apublicspace.org
Subscription Help subscribe@apublicspace.org