Shopping Cart


General Events

The 2019 Deborah Pease Prize


Monday, December 9 | 6:00 pm–10:00 pm

On December 9, at our second annual celebration of literature, together with writers, readers, editors, and friends from the literary world, we will honor Deborah Treisman, the fiction editor of the New Yorker and the 2019 recipient of the Deborah Pease Prize. Jennifer Egan will present the award, and the evening will also include remarks by Michael Silverblatt, the 2018 recipient of the Deborah Pease Prize, as well as a tribute to John L'Heureux by Tobias Wolff.

Please join the board of directors of A Public Space, Katherine Bell, Charles Buice, Elizabeth Gaffney, Yiyun Li, Kristen Mitchell, and Robert Sullivan; editor Brigid Hughes; the benefit committee Andrea Glimcher, Stefania Heim, Joan L'Heureux, Elizabeth Howard, David Henry Hwang, Charles McGrath, Kirstin Valdez Quade, Mengmeng Wang, Tobias Wolff, and Renée Zuckerbrot; and friends from the literary community, including Garth Greenwell, Aleksandar Hemon, Mary-Beth Hughes, and Edmund White for this special evening of cocktails and conversation, food and celebration. Tickets are on sale now.

For additional information, please contact Megan Cummins at or 718-858-8067.

More Upcoming Events


APS Together

A virtual discussion of New Grub Street


Join us for a virtual discussion of New Grub Street by George Gissing with Yiyun Li.

Wednesday, December 13, 2023 | 7:30 p.m. ET Online

Sign up for A Public Space's Newsletter