The 2019 Deborah Pease Prize

New York, NY Monday, December 9 | 6:00 pm–10:00 pm

On December 9, at our second annual celebration of literature, together with writers, readers, editors, and friends from the literary world, we will honor Deborah Treisman, the fiction editor of the New Yorker and the 2019 recipient of the Deborah Pease Prize. Jennifer Egan will present the award, and the evening will also include remarks by Michael Silverblatt, the 2018 recipient of the Deborah Pease Prize, as well as a tribute to John L'Heureux by Tobias Wolff.

Please join the board of directors of A Public Space, Katherine Bell, Charles Buice, Elizabeth Gaffney, Yiyun Li, Kristen Mitchell, and Robert Sullivan; editor Brigid Hughes; the benefit committee Andrea Glimcher, Stefania Heim, Joan L'Heureux, Elizabeth Howard, David Henry Hwang, Charles McGrath, Kirstin Valdez Quade, Mengmeng Wang, Tobias Wolff, and Renée Zuckerbrot; and friends from the literary community, including Garth Greenwell, Aleksandar Hemon, Mary-Beth Hughes, and Edmund White for this special evening of cocktails and conversation, food and celebration. Tickets are on sale now.

For additional information, please contact Megan Cummins at or 718-858-8067.

New York, NY
United States


A Public Space is an independent, non-profit publisher of the award-winning literary and arts magazine; and A Public Space Books. Since 2006, under the direction of founding editor Brigid Hughes the mission of A Public Space has been to seek out and support overlooked and unclassifiable work.

Featured Title

"A ferocious sense of engagement... and a glowing heart." —Wall Street Journal

Current Issue
No. 28

A one-year subscription to the magazine includes three print issues of the magazine; access to digital editions and the online archive; and membership in a vibrant community of readers and writers.

For Just


Subscribe Today


Get the latest updates from A Public Space.

A Public Space
323 Dean Street
Brooklyn, NY 11217

Privacy Policy

General Information
Subscription Help